Call for Committee members. The Source Protection Committee is seeking a community and economic representative. View the notice of committee membership opportunity, deadline to apply is May 5, 2023

Source Protection Committees were established for each of the 19 Source Protection Areas or Regions in Ontario. The Committees are required to follow the Clean Water Act, its regulations, Director’s rules, guidance material developed by the Province, and to work in cooperation with municipalities and Source Protection Authorities. The Cataraqui Source Protection Plan was developed by a committee of 16 members, including a Chair. To select the Chair of the Committee, the Cataraqui Source Protection Authority interviews candidates and sends the names of recommended candidates to the Minister of the Environment and Climate Change for appointment. The regulations of the Clean Water Act required that one‐third of the members of the SPC must be from each of the following sectors: municipal, economic, and other public interests. The Cataraqui Source Protection Authority (SPA) selected the members of the SPC based on land use characteristics, water use, and potential influences on water. To learn more about the SPC members, refer to the table below.

The Cataraqui Source Protection Committee developed a Terms of Reference, an Assessment Report, and a Source Protection Plan to protect sources of municipal residential drinking water and significant regional groundwater sources in the Cataraqui Source Protection Area.

The SPC is governed by the Clean Water Act, 2006 and its regulations. It has also established its own rules of procedure (By‐law 2007‐01) in December 2007. This includes a code of conduct and a conflict of interest policy.

View a copy of By-law 2007-01 (PDF) »

Source Protection Committee Meetings

The Cataraqui Source Protection Committee meets when necessary to discuss source protection policy and reporting requirements in the Cataraqui Source Protection Area. Meetings are open to the public. Meetings are currently being held at the call of the Chair.

Meetings are held at 6:30 pm at the Little Cataraqui Creek Conservation Area Outdoor Centre, 1655 Perth Road, Glenburnie ON (except where noted otherwise).

Click on a member’s name to view their biography.


Member Sector Representing
John Williamson – Inverary Chair
Luke MacDonald – Western Municipalities Municipal Western Municipalities
Niall Oddie – Kingston Municipal Central Municipalities
Steve Allen – Brockville Municipal Eastern Municipalities
John Conley – Athens Municipal Municipal (at large)
Kim Sytsma – Athens Economic Agriculture
Jeff Peters – Inverary Economic Agriculture
Michael Farrell – Ontario Power Generation – Bath Economic Industry
Chris Mangan-Greene – Greene Acre Golf Club – Gananoque Economic Tourism and Recreation
Mark Schjerning – Lake Associations – Sydenham Lake Community Lake Associations
Richard Lindgren – Canadian Environmental Law Association – Wolfe Island Community Environmental Associations
Natasha Prepas-Strobeck – Kingston Community General Public
Terry Shea – Kingston Community General Public
Gordon Ohlke Liaison Cataraqui Source Protection Authority
Adora Kwong – KFL&A Public Health Liaison Health Units
Mary Wooding Liaison Ministry of the Environment and Climate Change

Minutes & Agendas


Meeting Date Agenda Minutes
March 3, 2016 Agenda Minutes
November 24, 2016 Agenda Minutes
September 21, 2017 Agenda Minutes
November 30, 2017 Agenda Minutes
March 7, 2018 Agenda No quorum
March 21, 2018 Agenda Minutes
June 12, 2018 Agenda Minutes
November 21, 2018 Agenda Minutes
March 20, 2019 Agenda Minutes
October 29, 2019 Agenda Minutes
February 19, 2020 Agenda Minutes
March 30, 2020 Agenda Minutes
January 21, 2021 Agenda Minutes
February 25, 2021 Agenda Minutes
March 25, 2021 Agenda Minutes
November 24, 2021 Agenda Minutes
March 3, 2022 Agenda Minutes
July 19, 2022 Agenda Minutes
October 6, 2022 Agenda Minutes
February 8, 2023 Agenda Minutes
March 30, 2023 Agenda Minutes